MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE January 28, 2008

1. Professor Steve Kite, Faculty Senate Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. in Assembly Rooms A/B, NRCCE Building.

Members Present:

Almond, C.	Fitch, C.	Lastinger, V.	Petronis, J.	Sherlock, L.
Atkins, C.	Fredette, H.	Long, K.	Plein, C.	Stack, S.
Bagby, M.	Frum, K.	Malarcher, J.	Price, S.	Stolzenberg, A.
Behling, R.	Garbutt, K.	Mancinelli, C.	Rauch, H.	Stuchell, R.
Blaydes, S.	Griffith, R.	Mandich, M.	Richards, A.	Tallaksen, R.
Bonner, D.	Hendrickson, J.	McCombie, R.	Riemenschneider, S.	Tauger, M.
Bowen, E.	Hornak, L.	McDiarmid, M.	Riley, W.	Temple, J.
Brown, G.	Hornsby, G.	McGinley, P.	Robbins, J.	Urbanski, J.
Clark, N.	Huffman, V.	Miller, M.	Robinson, C.	Valenti, M.
Cottrell, S.	Iskander, W.	Napolitano, M.	Ruscello, D.	Vona-Davis, L.
Culberson, J.	Jacknowitz, A.	Nelson, C.	Ryan, K.	Watson, J.
D'Souza, G.	Kershner, R.	Nutter, R.	Sand-Jecklin, K.	Webb-Dempsey, J.
Davis, S.	Kirby, B.	Olson, K.	Sedgeman, J.	Weihman, L.
Dillis, C.	Kleist, V.	Peace, G.	Selin, S.	Wilcox, G.
Etzel, E.	Lake, M.	Perone, M.	Shelton, E.	Woloshuk, J.

Members Absent:

Ameri, S.	Comer, P.	Hessl, A.	Murthy, K.	Stockdale, T.
Anderson, R.	Cottrell, L.	Hileman, S.	Mutz, C.	Townsend, C.
Banta, L.	Davari, A.	Howard, S.	Nath, C.	Turton, R.
Brooks, J.	Dedhia, H.	Hurst, M.	Nestor, P.	Walker, E.
Brooks, R.	DiBartolomeo, L.	King, J.	Serafini, M.	Walls, T.
Bryner, R.	Gerbo, R.	LaGodna, B.	Sherwood, L.	
Campbell, L.	Hall, D.	Latimer, M.	Siegrist, J.	
Chetlin, R.	Hartman, K.	Lively, M.	Spleth, J.	
Cohen, S.	Hermosilla, P.	McClellan, A.	Steranka, P.	

2. Chair Kite called a special meeting of the WVU Faculty Senate to conduct an election for three new members to the Executive MBA Investigation Panel. The committee is being reconstituted in response to a motion passed by the Faculty Senate at its January 14th meeting. According to the motion, the Panel will retain two WVU professors who are on the Panel, Michael Lastinger and Roy Nutter, and replace Bruce Flack, of the HEPC, with three people who have no, or minimal, ties to the State or the University.

Professor Nigel Clark presented a motion formulated by the Executive Committee to suspend Robert's Rules of Order and to adopt a special set of rules for the election process. The motion states:

1) Chair Kite will report that names, affiliations, sources leading to selection and resumes of eight nominees (approved by the Senate Executive Committee on January 25, 2008) have already been distributed to all senators.

- 2) Chair Kite will call for additional nominations from the floor. Nominees should not have substantial affiliation with WVU, or any conflict of interest related to the panel's mission. Nomination must be by a senator. The senator will announce only the name and affiliation of the nominee, and provide 100 copies of the nominee's resume.
- 3) The senate will have five minutes per additional nomination to review the freshly distributed resumes.
- 4) Ballot sheets, bearing the names of the eight existing nominees and having write-in lines for additional nominees, will be distributed to Morgantown senators, and each senator may vote for up to five nominees. Secretary Strife will manage a parallel process for other campuses. The five nominees receiving the highest vote count will be recognized as a pool of candidates from which the three panelists will be chosen in a second round of voting. In the event of a tie-vote, the pool may contain more than five candidates.
- 5) A second round of voting by ballot will occur to select the three panelists from the pool of five (or more) selected. Each senator may vote for up to three candidates. The three candidates receiving the highest vote count will be asked to join the panel. The remaining candidates from the pool will be retained as alternates.

Motion carried.

Chair Kite said that 40 individuals were contacted, including two university presidents, retired and current judges, and past and present presidents of national societies. Five individuals were self-nominated but were not considered because the January 14 motion said that the process should come from the full senate. Fourteen nominees expressed a willingness to serve and on Friday, January 25, the Executive Committee met to evaluate those fourteen. 8 of those were found to be impartial and qualified to serve on panels. CV's and bios were e-mailed to senators. Chair Kite said that those disqualified was because of a connection to WVU or the State.

Nominees are:

Dr. Art Centonze
Dean Emeritus
Pace University, New York
Namination: Suggested to C

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite by The Assoc. to Advance Collegiate

Schools of Business

Dr. Ralph Katerberg, Associate Professor College of Business Administration University of Cincinnati

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite from The Higher Learning Commission

Dr. Doyle Williams Dean Emeritus at the University of Arkansas Senior Scholar, Kennesaw State University Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite by The Assoc. to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business Dr. Jacalyn Askin

Assistant Dean for Finance & Business

College of Nursing & Healthcare

Arizona State University

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite by The Higher Learning Commission

Dr. John R. Campbell

President Emeritus and Professor of Animal Sciences

Oklahoma State University

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite from The Higher Learning Commission

Dr. William Rundell

Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science

Texas A&M University

Nomination: Senator Sherm Riemenschneider

Dr. Lori Franz

Former Provost

University of Missouri-Columbia

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite by The Higher Learning Commission

Dr. Brenda Russell

Executive Associate Vice Chancellor for Research

University of Illinois-Chicago

Nomination: Suggested to Chair Kite by The Higher Learning Commission

Professor McGinley, School of Law, nominated:

John M. Burkhoff Professor of Law

University of Pittsburgh

After voting, Faculty Secretary Strife announced that Dr. Art Centonze, Dr. Doyle Williams, Dr. Jacalyn Askin, Dr. Lori Franz, and John Burkhoff were chosen as the top 5 nominees.

After a second vote, Faculty Secretary Strife said that Dr. Art Centonze, Dr. Lori Franz, and John Burkhoff were selected to be on the Panel, with Dr. Jacalyn Askin serving as first alternate and Dr. Doyle Williams as second alternate.

Chair Kite encouraged Panel Chair Nutter try to meet in a timely manner with the three who were chosen but, if that isn't possible, to move to the alternates.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Mary Strife

Faculty Secretary