2015-2016 Executive Committee


Richard Turton, Chair, Statler, PO Box 6102, 293-9364, Richard.Turton@mail.wvu.edu
Alan Stolzenberg, Eberly, Faculty Secretary
Lena Maynor, Pharmacy, Chair-Elect
Jennifer Orlikoff, Eberly, Past Chair
Robert Griffith, Pharmacy, BOG Representative
Samuel Ameri, Statler
Robert Bastress, Law
Lesley Cottrell, Medicine
Lisa DiBartolomeo, Eberly
Sandra Elmore, WVUIT
Rebecca Fint-Clark, Extension
Virginia Kleist, B&E
E. Gordon Gee, WVU President, ex officio
Joyce McConnell, WVU Provost, ex officio
Louise Veselicky, Health Sciences Center, ex officio
Roy Nutter, Statler, ACF Representative, ex officio
Matthew Valenti, Statler, Chair, Curriculum Committee, ex officio
David Hauser, Eberly, Chair, General Education Curriculum Oversight Committee, ex officio

Committee Charge

It shall be the duty of the Executive Committee to: (a) accept, review, advise, recommend, and initiate reports, policies, and issues relating to the functions set forth in Article II, Section 2 of the constitution; (b) serve as a channel through which any member of the Assembly may introduce matters for consideration by the Senate; (c) assist in carrying into effect the rules, regulations and actions of the senate; (d) act for the Senate on an emergency basis between meetings of the Senate, such action to be reported for confirmation at the next Senate meeting; (e) appoint both standing and special committees of the Senate and the chairs thereof with such appointments subject to confirmation by the senate, and to maintain liaison with these committees to insure the expeditious fulfillment of charges to the various committees; (f) prepare and submit reports on the work of the Senate to the University, to the President, and to the Assembly; (g) arrange the agenda for Senate meetings including a time for the University President, or for his/her designated representative, to stand for questions and to provide additional information or comments to the Senate; (h) appoint Senators to serve on the University-wide Promotion and Tenure Advisory Panel; and (i) interpret the West Virginia University Faculty Constitution.